New chair appointed to the Board of Harwich Haven Authority

15 September 2020

Harwich Haven Authority today announce the appointment of Debbie Francis as chair of its Board of non-executive directors. Debbie succeeds Jim Keohane, who is the current chair of the board. The appointment will be effective from 1 January 2021.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as Board chair over the past 6 years. During my tenure many changes and improvements have been implemented and I’m confident that the Authority will continue to flourish under Debbie’s guidance,” says Jim.

Debbie has held senior leadership roles within the rail sector, including Direct Rail Services and Network Rail and is currently a Non-Executive Director of a large and complex NHS Trust. She is a Chartered Director and was named North West & IOM 2019 Director of the Year for Inclusivity.

“I am so excited to be joining the Harwich Haven Authority,” says Debbie. “It is a real privilege to be able to contribute to something that plays such a significant part in the UK’s economic growth.

“I am the first woman to be appointed Chair of Harwich Haven Authority’s Board, which is a huge honour. My wish is that while I might be the first… I certainly won’t be the last.”