Non-exec Members

Jim Keohane

Chair of the Board

Joined March 2015

Jim has 30 years’ experience in the energy industry and worked extensively on the privatisation and restructuring of the electricity industry in the late 1980s. Jim was subsequently a director at East Midlands Electricity and later, Eastern Electricity. From 2001 he served an eight-year term as a non-executive director at the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) and was Deputy Chair for the final two years. From 2009 until 2017 he was a non-executive director at Ofgem, the gas and electricity regulator. In 2014 he also became a non-executive director of the Low Carbon Contracts Company which contracts for the energy from all large scale renewable energy projects in the UK on behalf of the Government. In September 2017 he was appointed as Chair of the Market Operator Services Limited in the water industry.

Keith Winstanley

Deputy Chair
Joined January 2016 | Chair of the Safety, Health Environment and Security Committee

Keith Winstanley has over 34 years maritime experience, predominantly in the Royal Navy, where he served in every class of warship, from minesweeper to aircraft carrier, and commanded four: a minesweeper, two destroyers and an amphibious command ship. He served for over two years as the senior Royal Navy officer in the Middle East and, concurrently, as the Deputy Coalition Naval Commander, commanding a force of 115 ships and 35 aircraft operating in a sea area of 2.5 million square miles. Keith has taught and lectured worldwide, on strategy and operational planning and has completed a research fellowship with Oxford University into maritime security and globalization in the maritime sector. He was made a Visiting Fellow at Oxford on completion of his fellowship. He is a Director of two UK-based companies and will be taking part in 4 of the 8 legs of the 2019-2020 Clipper Round The World Yacht Race – www.keithsclipperadventure.com

Geoff Benn

Joined January 2016 | Chair of the Channel Deepening Committee, member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration and Nominations Committee

Geoff has spent all his working life in service businesses. For the last 30 years he has worked at a senior level in the health and social care system including Strategic Planning, PMI, ElderlyCare, Acute, Diagnostic and Community care. He is a specialist in creating innovative, viable, commercial solutions and has designed and operated several successful public/private sector joint ventures. Now semi-retired he continues to speak at conferences on the sustainability and development of health care systems.

Richard Bint

Joined January 2016 | Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the Channel Deepening Committee

Richard was the Senior Partner of PKF (UK) LLP, the eighth largest firm of accountants in the UK. He was also a member of the Board of PKF International, the management company of the firm’s international network. He has held a number of senior positions in the accountancy profession including being a member of the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW) and of the Auditing Practices Board of the Financial Reporting Council. Richard retired in March 2015 and is currently a lay member of the Court (the governing body) of the University of Dundee, Vice-Chair of the Audit Committee of the ICAEW and is a Non-Executive Board member of Estuary Housing Association which provides social and affordable rented properties and develops new such properties across Essex and East London.

Gareth Llewellyn

Joined January 2016 | Chair of the Remuneration and Nominations Committe

Gareth is the Chief Executive of the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency. He had previously held executive roles with Network Rail where he was Executive Director, Safety, Technical and Engineering, Anglo American where he was Global Head of Safety and Sustainable Development, and National Grid where he was Global Director for Safety, Health, Environment and Corporate Responsibility. He spent his early career with the Environment Agency and is a qualified marine chemist.  Gareth has held a number of non-executive director roles. He floated Biffa plc where he chaired the Board SHE Committee and established the DfT’s Renewable Fuels Agency where he chaired the Board Audit and Risk Committee. He has also been a non-executive director of the Rail Safety and Standards Board, National Grid Property and the UK Business Council for Sustainable Energy. Gareth also served a three year term as Chair of the Board of trustees at the non-for-profit CL:AIRE.

Dr Karen Purnell

Joined February 2015 | Member of the Safety, Health Environment and Security Committee

Karen has extensive experience in the shipping, maritime and environmental sectors, having worked for ITOPF Ltd for more than 20 years. Prior to that she worked for a consultancy specialising in remediation of contaminated land. During her time with ITOPF Ltd Karen has worked alongside a wide range of stakeholders from the private and public sectors worldwide, providing technical support and advice on environmental and economic damage following accidental spills of oil and chemicals from ships. Karen also actively maintains a diverse and extensive network of contacts and is a keen supporter of the STEM initiative, providing school children with inspiration as to how they can use their scientific skills in the maritime sector. Karen is currently the Managing Director of ITOPF Ltd, Chairman of the ITOPF’s Board of Pension Trustees, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, a member of the Institute of Directors and a Shipwright.

Dame Lin Homer

Joined January 2019 – Member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration and Nominations Committee

Lin Homer is the Former Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive of HM Revenue and Customs, a role she undertook from January 2012 until her retirement in April 2016. Prior to this she was the Permanent Secretary at the Department for Transport and Chief Executive of the UK Border Agency at the Home Office. Lin also held roles as Chief Executive of Birmingham City Council (2002-2005) and Suffolk County Council (1998-2002). Lin is a qualified lawyer, and holds a number of Non-Executive roles in the not for profit and charity sector. Lin was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the Bath in the January 2016 New Year’s Honours for public services, particularly to public finance.

Flemming Dalgaard

Joined November 2018 | Member of the Channel Deepening Committee

Flemming is an experienced chief executive and non-executive director with over 30 years of experience in the maritime industry and logistics sector. Flemming started his career with A.P.Moller-Maersk in 1986 as a management trainee and spent 21 years there in a variety of roles, including Deputy Managing Director Maersk Line Germany, Managing Director of Maersk Line UK & Ireland as well Group Vice President WOC. He spent a further eight years with DP World as CEO for the Europe and Russia region followed by the position as Group Senior Vice President responsible for Global Strategy. Latterly he was Chief Executive of Gultainer, responsible for all port, trucking and logistics activities. He is a Chartered Fellow of the IOD and a Chartered Fellow of the UK Institute for Logistics and Transport. He is also an adviser to Arcus IP, an investment adviser to the APMC Africa infrastructure fund and a Non-Executive Director of Shipping SDK.